Make This Your Year!

Hi, I’m Chloe and this is my first ever blog post! I’ve never owned a blog and to be honest I’m not really sure how to go about it, but I’m excited to see how this goes and learn more along the way! I have always loved writing, but since leaving home and moving to uni I haven’t had the chance apart from writing essays, so this gives me the opportunity to try something new but also start writing again, something that I have missed a lot.

Writing a ‘New Year’ post at the end of January may seem like I’ve missed the bandwagon with 2017 beginning nearly a month ago, but since my family and I have always celebrated Chinese New Year, this gives me the opportunity to make new resolutions and a second chance at a New Year! If you were wondering, the Chinese calendar follows the lunisolar calendar cycle, which calculates the year according to astronomy and this year Chinese New Year (also known as the Spring Festival) falls on 28th January and is the year of the rooster.

I am never any good at sticking to New Year’s resolutions, and this year my resolution not to nap only lasted a day and a half, and was not helped by me getting ill the next week which I spent in bed! By thinking about my second New Year of 2017 I realised that a year is 365 days regardless of what day you start on, so not sticking to resolutions does not mean that you have to write of the rest of the year!

Last Summer I went on an orchestra tour to Amsterdam. Whilst I was there I found a yearly planner that says on the front ‘this is your year’. I loved the phrase and resolved to make ‘my’ year. Of course it hasn’t turned out perfectly, but I never expected it to! Inside it has cute, little quotes and makes me want to organise my life so that I can turn my dreams into plans!

My current aims are:

  • To write a blog – if nothing else I can read it back later and laugh/ cringe/ understand my 20 year old self through it
  • To run more often
  • To be more productive and procrastinate less
  • To make the most of opportunities
  • To enjoy life

If there is anyone reading I hope you’ve enjoyed this glimpse into my thoughts on life! I hope this works, but I’m just going to keep muddling through as I’ve always done!

Chloe x

Follow my blog with Bloglovin
Find me on Instagram: chloeluye

12 thoughts on “Make This Your Year!

Leave a Reply

